Skip to content

Why Hello, Jell-O…

Welcome to Breaking the Mold blog!

My hope is to entertain (and inspire!) while chronicling my adventures (and inevitable misadventures) in gelatin molding.

I’ve always loved jello (I have my Midwestern grandparents to blame for that) and recently inherited my grandmother’s jello molds and extensive jello recipe collection. I’ve also been inspired by the various jello recipe booklets from the 1930’s that I’ve collected and look forward to sharing my experiments with such tantalizing treats as: Chicken Mousse, Sea Dream Salad, and Prune Perfection!

I’m also a firm believer in “boozy jello” and will be including recipes for some favorites from that category as well. These are not your college roommate’s jello shots. You have been warned.

Many thanks to those who helped me come up with the blog title (shout out to Alexa) as well as the yet-to-be used post titles (Paige, Jenny, Courtney, Jessamyn & Alexa).

Special thanks and super shout out to my blog consultant, sometimes photographer, and dear friend Paige. Thanks lady, you rock!

On with the show!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. CPY permalink

    Wahoo!! Congratulations, the site is beautiful!

  2. J. Co permalink

    YES! Congrats on the launch, we will celebrate this week. Added to my Google Reader today 🙂

  3. Martha Ashton permalink

    My Dear Niece…Congrats! This is just too entertaining. It’s about
    time that somebody gave jello molds the just respect they so deserve!
    Can’t wait to see which one you feature next. Photos are awesome! Who knew that Mom added Knox unflavored gelatin to her recipe?!?
    Love you! Aunt Martha

    • Thanks Aunt Martha! Truth be told Grandma didn’t add Knox to hers but I’ve found it helps keep the shape better and the mold holds up longer when out on the table for a long family dinner…shhh don’t tell! xoxo

Leave a Reply

