Skip to content

Berry Blue Hanukkah Jigglers

We had a holiday potluck at work today and of COURSE I had to bring a jello mold. Last night I assessed my Jell-O options in the kitchen cupboard and a box of Berry Blue Jell-O caught my eye. Today happens to be the first day of Hanukkah (l’chaim Jewish friends!) so I thought it would be a great excuse to whip up some blue and white layered jigglers.

I’ll be honest here for a minute and confess that ever since an unfortunate jello layering attempt 2 years ago (also for a holiday potluck) I’ve been avoiding layered jello recipes. However, I decided to bite the bullet this time because I thought the blue and white would look pretty and I was feeling feisty.

I took to the interwebs to find a foolproof recipe and decided to slightly modified a recipe from JustJenn since I only had one box of Berry Blue and didn’t need to make an obscene amount of jello (who knew if anyone would even eat it??).  I’ll be honest – my jigglers didn’t turn out as beautifully as Jenn’s. I had a minor mishap with the first layer and I don’t think I let the entire thing chill long enough at the end before cutting (let’s just say there were a lot of “jello scraps” left to eat for breakfast – and yes, I eat jello for breakfast at my house). All in all, I think they turned out OK and the potluckers at work seemed to enjoy them. I also ended up spilling the beans jigglers about my blog to my co-workers so…hi guys?

Enough rambling! On with the recipe…

Berry Blue Hanukkah Jigglers

Ingredients:

1-6 oz. box of Berry Blue Jell-O

4 packets of Knox unflavored gelatin

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

4 cups of boiling water

Mix 1/2 cup of the sweetened condensed milk with 1/2 cup boiling water. Separately, dissolve 1 envelope of Knox with 1/2 cup boiling water. Slowly combine the two mixtures and set aside.

Mix the Berry Blue Jell-O with 2 envelopes of Knox. In three separate cups, dissolve 4 tablespoons of the Jell-O/Knox mixture with 1 cup of boiling water each.

Pour one blue layer into a glass pyrex dish (mine was 9×9) and refrigerate until sticky to the touch (about 20 minutes).

*This is where I got myself into trouble – I let the first layer cool too much and the next layer didn’t adhere. Thus the 4 layers in my photo, not 5.

Once the first layer has firmed up, carefully spoon half of the condensed milk mixture into the pyrex and return to the fridge for about 15 minutes. Continue this process alternating layers until you’re done – then leave to set up over night.

To release the mold I just ran a sharp knife around the edges and carefully pulled at one edge while I had it flipped upside down over a cookie sheet.

*I wish my cat could take pictures because this part was awkward and I’d made a mess with the jello/milk mixtures and stained nearly everything in my kitchen blue. It’s cool – this is how I spend my Tuesdays.

At any rate, once it’s out you can cut the jello into squares like I did or use a cookie cutter to make fun shapes if you’re feeling fancy.

This recipe can be made with any jello flavors and you can go crazy with the layers and add pretty much as many as you want. Go CrAzY!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessamyn permalink

    Spill the jigglers 🙂 Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Merry Marshmallows « Breaking the Mold
  2. Christmas Jigglers « Breaking the Mold

Leave a Reply

