Skip to content

Happy Birthday to Me (and Bill Cosby)

He may be 49 years older than me but Bill Cosby and I have two things in common: our birthdays and Jell-O.

Today I turn 25 and although I’m not having a “quarter life crisis” (eye roll) the last year has certainly been one of change. I’m feeling incredibly thankful for my amazing friends, family, and YOU my dear blog readers. All five of you. I love each and every one of you.

But enough about my birthday, you’re here to read about gelatin right? Well for the 4th of July I decided to make some festive star-shaped jigglers. I haven’t made jigglers in many, many years and I must admit that it was a little tricky cutting them out.

I may have been a little overambitious because I made a double recipe in one of my jellyroll pans and it was pretty stressful trying to unmold so I could cut out the shapes.

Once I had the massive sheet of jello out of the pan I used a metal cookie cutter to make the stars and I have to say that they were pretty festive.

Jigglers are super easy to make:

2 1/2 cups of boiling water

2 – 6 oz. packages of Jell-O, any flavor

Just stir the gelatin into the boiling water until completely dissolved and let set in a 9×13 inch pan for at least 4 hours. Unmold and cut into squares or whatever shape your heart desires.

I served my Cherry Jell-O stars with blueberries and Cool-Whip because that’s just how you do things on the 4th of July.

Now, enjoy this classic Jell-O Jiggler commercial from before I was even born:

Happy Molding!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. morgan amanda f. permalink

    am i included as one of your five faithful readers? if not, your number rises. i read- and enjoy!-breakingthemold.wordpress.com. thanks for sharing, and happy birthday! ❤ morgan amanda

  2. Jeffrey Spector permalink

    Happy birthday! Your blog is great Jeleste! 🙂

  3. Paige permalink

    That commercial had to have been filmed after we were born. I distinctly remember it, especially the Jell-O lips!

    • Well my Googling told me it was from the early 1980’s but yes, I remember it vivdly from our childhood as well. Jell-O tends to re-use commericals so my guess is they just got a lot of mileage out of it that decade!

Leave a Reply

