Skip to content

Hey Girl

Inspiration: fuckyeahryangosling.tumblr.com & feministryangosling.tumblr.com

Even Ryan Gosling is despondent. It’s been too long since my last blog post. You need your jello fix and I have been negligent. We’ll get to the jello in the minute but let me just say this: I had no idea you cared! I’ve been pretty convinced that I had a solid 5-10 readers with a sprinkle of random internet creepers. Apparently, though, word has spread about this little blog of mine and people have been asking for more. More!

Well, when I started this little exercise in quirkiness I promised myself that it would be for the sheer pleasure of it. I never wanted it to become a burden or a chore and I really didn’t want to worry about misplaced commas and run-on sentences. So I’m happy to report that this blog isn’t a chore and I still don’t worry about poor grammar (real or imagined)! But I do know that I should at least make more of an effort to keep you all posted on my adventures in gelatin. So, without further ado, let me get you up to speed.

When we last spoke I was celebrating my shared birthday with Bill Cosby and, thanks to the big guy, I had my most trafficked day on the blog since I started. I was also surprised with a homemade jello mold courtesy of my boss! I was incredibly touched and also impressed that a 30-something man would buy strawberry-banana Jell-O, mold it in a bundt pan, un-mold it at work and decorate it with whipped cream from the cafeteria, just to do something nice for his employee. I didn’t have time to snap a “before” picture but here is the “after.” The candles were a nice touch even though we couldn’t light them. And on top of all that, he actually ordered me a food service sized can of powered gelatin that I mentioned in an earlier blog post. Pretty great birthday all around!

In August I attended a friend’s birthday barbeque (shout out to CPY!) and decided to use a tried and true recipe for my potluck dish. I made the wine squares and just used prosecco, a little fruit juice, and blueberries.

They had melted a bit by the time people got around to eating them, for which I walked around apologizing profusely, but no one really seemed to care. I’ll work on a method for keeping jello cool  at barbeques next summer…stay tuned for that riveting post!

So I’ll leave you with that for now but I promise not to pull another disappearing act because I have some amazing recipes to share with you that involve: breakfast, pumpkin pie, and cranberry-ginger jellies. I will also remind you that I love to hear comments on my posts – especially if you’ve tried any of the recipes. How did it go? Was it gross? Was it a big hit? Did you modify it at all? I want to hear all about it!

Happy Molding!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. JCM permalink

    I’ll take some more Ryan Gosling pics and giner jellies any day!

  2. Yea! You’re back! I don’t have any stories-from-the-gelatin-field to share with you, but I’ll get on that…

Leave a Reply

