Skip to content

Grandma Marjorie’s Cranberry Salad

Grandma Marjorie April 13, 1916 - December 2, 2011

As I mentioned in my very first recipe blog post, I owe my affection for Jell-O to my mom’s mom – Grandma Marjorie. I haven’t posted since Thanksgiving because it’s been a difficult month (heck, year) for my family and for me. We lost my Grandpa Harlan on December 28th last year and we knew this Christmas would be tough without him. Christmas was my grandmother’s very favorite holiday and in some ways, I’m glad she didn’t have to spend a Christmas without her husband and partner of 69 years.

I’m so very thankful for the lifetime of memories I have of my grandma and for the valuable (and practical: how to set rollers in my hair, apply lipstick, and obviously, mold jello) things she taught me. I’m also thankful that I was able to make her a dish of her classic orange jello recipe a few weeks before she passed away. It was so nice to hear her reminisce about when I was little and how much I loved her jello…

She wasn’t well enough to make it to Thanksgiving dinner but I made her traditional cranberry mold. The day after Thanksgiving was the last time I saw her. I made this recipe again for the funeral just a week later.

Grandma Marjorie's Cranberry Salad

Ingredients:

3 oz. box Raspberry Jell-O

3 tablespoons sugar

1 can whole cranberry sauce

1/3 cup chopped celery

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup sour cream

1 cup boiling water

Dissolve the Jell-O and sugar in the cup of boiling water. Stir in the can of whole cranberry sauce and chill until thickened into a gel (about 1 hour). Stir in the sour cream, celery, and walnuts. The traditional recipe calls for you to then pour into an 8×8 glass dish, chill overnight, and serve sliced into squares on a lettuce leaf. I chose to use one of my metal molds so people could take as much (or as little) as they wanted. Quite festive, I think…

Thanksgiving Dinner (because admit it, you were dying to know)

Happy Molding, Happy Hannukah, and a very Merry Christmas to you and yours.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie was so proud of her beautiful granddaughter and especially pleased that her recipes will be passed on to future generations!

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Mousse Parfaits & Exciting News « Breaking the Mold

Leave a Reply

