Skip to content

The Cupcake Stands Alone

I wish I’d remembered to take a group shot before I handed these cuties out but I didn’t, so this one will have to do. Also, who thinks I should invest in an actual camera this year? I really shouldn’t be subjecting you lovely people to my grainy/poorly lit/awkwardly staged cellphone pictures.

At any rate, I decided to take a crack at the delightfully named “jello poke cake” last week. I was in a sugar (and tequila, if I’m being honest) induced baking frenzy thanks to Valentine’s Day and thought cupcakes would be a nice vehicle for these adorable (and previously referenced) sprinkles.

These cupcakes are sweet enough to put a healthy adult into a diabetic coma but they were delicious and adorable and pink – all important criteria for Valentine’s Day treats.

Strawberry Jell-O Poke Cupcake

To make these delightful sugar-bombs, start by preparing your cupcakes. Boxed mixes work great for this – I used plain vanilla but you could use any flavor that you think would go well with your chosen Jell-O flavor. Once the cupcakes have cooled, use a fork to pierce the cupcake 3-4 times all the way down to the bottom.

Dissolve 6 tablespoons (a three ounce box) of your Jell-O – I used strawberry but again, your choice – into 1 cup of boiling water. You’ll want to set the cupcakes in a pan (preferably on a wire rack) to catch the Jell-O run-off. Carefully pour the Jell-O over each cupcake so that it can soak through the pierced holes. Then, refrigerate for at least 3 hours to let the Jell-O set.

Top with your frosting of choice – I used a simple white icing recipe and added a few drops of food coloring. Be sure to garnish with something fun!

Did everyone have a nice Valentine’s Day? Anyone else whip themselves into a treat-making frenzy? Have one margarita too many with fabulous friends (Natasha and Alexa – holler!)? Maybe that was just me?

Happy Molding!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. I can vouch for these adorable pink ladies! (yes, I only gave Nick HALF of his cupcake)

Leave a Reply

